Ralph Lauren will be honored at 2018 CFDA Awards

today May 23, 2018
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

The Council of Fashion Designers of America will honor Ralph Lauren at this year's CFDA Fashion Awards, held June 4 in Brooklyn.

Announcements are coming thick and fast with the CFDA Awards now just days away. After naming Kim Kardashian as the winner of this year's Influencer Award, the Council of Fashion Designers of America revealed on Instagram that Ralph Lauren will also be honored at this year's event.

American fashion designer Ralph Lauren, who founded the brand of the same name, will receive the first ever CFDA Members Salute in recognition of his role in the American and global fashion industry. The award will also mark the 50th anniversary of the Ralph Lauren brand.

A host of special prizes will be given during this prestigious ceremony, crowning the fashion industry's finest. Naomi Campbell will receive the Fashion Icon Award, Diane von Furstenberg will get the Swarovski Award for Positive Change, and the International Award will go to Donatella Versace.

The awards ceremony will also crown the 2018 "Womenswear Designer of the Year." This year's nominees are Virgil Abloh, Raf Simons, Marc Jacobs, Gabriela Hearst and Mary-Kate & Ashley Olsen. Designers James Jebbia, Thom Browne, Tom Ford, Virgil Abloh and Raf Simons are nominated for the "Menswear Designer of the Year" award.

Copyright © 2020 AFP-Relaxnews. All rights reserved.