Apr 6, 2016
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

BFC’s NewGen Men recipients for June announced

Apr 6, 2016

The British Fashion Council announced on Wednesday morning the ten emerging menswear designers who will receive support for their SS17 collections showcase as part of the NewGen scheme.

Designers will be given support to stage a runway show, presentation or installation at the London Collections Men, taking place from June 10 to 13.

NewGen Men recipients for June announced - BFC

Seven designers will continue to receive NewGen Men support this season, including Alex Mullins, Bobby Abley, Cottweiler, Craig Green, Diego Vanassibara, Liam Hodges and PIETER.

Additionally, this season the British Fashion Council will be taking three new designers into the scheme: Kiko Kostadinov, Phoebe English and Wales Bonner. Meanwhile, Agi & Sam, Astrid Andersen and Nasir Mazhar have after six seasons successfully graduated from the sponsorship programme.

Jason Griffiths, Marketing Director of Topman said: “It is fantastic to be welcoming new designers to the NewGen Men fold for June, Grace Wales Bonner, Kiko Kostadinov and Phoebe English -  I’m sure all eyes will be on these bright new stars as they unveil their inaugural  NewGen Men collections.”

NewGen Men is a programme that offers not only showcasing opportunities, but also financial support and business mentoring, including commercial and accounting advice. The target is to help and nurture emerging designers and help them build a sucessful business.

Caroline Rush CBE, Chief Executive of the BFC commented: “London has always been known for its celebration of emerging talent, and NewGen Men is a key part of the innovative identity of London Collections Men. All ten of this season’s designers represent what is so special about British menswear in their own way, and I am eager to see their collections in the spotlight this June. The mentoring and support that NewGen Men provides is invaluable, and watching the progress that it encourages is always exciting.”

Previous designers who have been supported by the scheme include Christopher Raeburn, J.W.Anderson and Christopher Shannon.

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.