Nov 9, 2015
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

BFC announces NewGen Men AW16 recipients

Nov 9, 2015

The British Fashion Council has revealed the names of the latest menswear designers to get NewGen sponsorship. The initiative, which is sponsored by Topman, will see the emerging talents showcase their AW16 collections at London Collections Men in January.

Astrid Andersen

The designers get support for a catwalk show, presentation or installation. A new recipient this year is Liam Hodges (catwalk). He joins existing NewGen Men designers Agi & Sam (catwalk), Alex Mullins (presentation), Astrid Andersen (catwalk), Bobby Abley (catwalk), Cottweiler (presentation), Craig Green (catwalk) Diego Vanassibara (installation), Nasir Mazhar (catwalk) and Pieter (presentation).

Newgen's aim is to help the designers build their businesses commercially, and they receive financial support and business mentoring through NewGen.

Jason Griffiths, Marketing Director of Topman said: “The calibre of design talent coming through the NewGen Men award is testament to the incredible strength of menswear design out there right now.  Each season we – as a panel – find it harder to decide on the finalists.  This season will not disappoint – the calibre is second to none and I’m very much looking forward to seeing what our designers bring to the table during January’s LCM and reaffirming London as the hottest showcase on the menswear calendar.”


NewGen Men was first introduced in 2009. Caroline Rush CBE, Chief Executive of the BFC, commented: “NewGen Men is widely recognised as a key incubator for talented young menswear designers. Each of the ten recipients uniquely represents the diverse and robust position of London and the UK within the global menswear market. This season’s deserving designers will benefit from the exceptional support and mentorship that the initiative facilitates, and I look forward to seeing how their businesses grow in the future.” 

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.