Translated by
Dec 1, 2022
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

The LVMH 2023 Prize launches its call for entries

Translated by
Dec 1, 2022

The LVMH 2023 Prize is officially open. Young talents, who hope to succeed Steven Stokey-Daley, Nensi Dojaka, or many other designers crowned in recent years, by participating in the competition dedicated to young designers launched by the French luxury group in 2013, have until Sunday, January 29, 2023, to submit their application.

The LVMH 2023 Prize is open for applications - lvmhprize.com

The competition, which is celebrating its tenth anniversary in 2023, has already put many successful designers in the spotlight. Some of whom, since participating in the competition, have showed their designs on the most prestigious runways, from Paris to London. These designers include 2019 winner Thebe Magugu, 2017 winner Marine Serre, 2015 special prize winner Jacquemus, 2018 special prize winner Rokh, and 2016 winner Grace Wales Bonner, as well as Marques'Almeida winners of the 2015 prize.
As Delphine Arnault, who started the award and oversees it each year, reminds us in a press release, "ten years after its creation, the LVMH Prize has become a benchmark, a major and unavoidable player in the support of young designers." She emphasizes how it has evolved over the years, reflecting "the currents and trends that run through fashion and, more broadly, society.

Entries are made exclusively through the website lvmhprize.com. Candidates must be between 18 and 40 years old and have produced at least two ready-to-wear collections for women, men or unisex. In addition, each year the LVMH Prize honours young 2023 fashion school graduates. Applications for this category are open until Sunday, March 19, 2023.
The semi-final of the competition will take place on Thursday, March 2 and Friday, March 3, 2023, during Paris Fashion Week. The winner of the LVMH Prize will receive a 300,000 euro prize and a one-year mentorship from the luxury group's teams. The winner of the Karl Lagerfeld Special Prize will receive an endowment of 150,000 euros and a year of mentoring.
In order to raise awareness around environmental issues among young designers in their creation and production processes, each winner will be offered specific coaching and a financial endowment of 20,000 euros and 10,000 euros allowing them to acquire fabrics from the Nona Source platform, initiated by the luxury giant to give a second life to the dormant stocks of materials of its houses.

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.