Translated by
Barbara Santamaria
Nov 27, 2019
Reading time
2 minutes
Download the article
Click here to print
Text size
aA+ aA-

Belgian Fashion Awards host third edition

Translated by
Barbara Santamaria
Nov 27, 2019

The Belgian Fashion Awards, now in its third year, hosted on Thursday evening a ceremony to celebrate the best of Belgian fashion and announce the winners of this year’s awards.

Dirk van Saene received the Prize of the Jury - Fille Roelants

Dirk van Saene was named the winner of the Jury Prize, in recognition of his current and past work and the way he translates his creative talent into fashion, painting and ceramics. He was also celebrated for his contribution to the Belgian fashion scene as a member of the Antwerp Six, and his continued effort to nurture the younger generation as a teacher of the Antwerp Fashion Academy.

Christian Wijnants took home the Designer of the Year award, with the panel of judges highlighting his commitment to staying true to his DNA in a world dictated by trends. The designer, who expanded his brand with the launch of footwear and a knitwear collection for men earlier this year, has undertaken significant research into new materials and knitwear.

The Talent of the Year award was given to menswear brand Namacheko, founded by Iraqi-Swedish duo Dilan and Lezar Lurr.

Artist and photographer Pierre Debusschere received the Professional of the Year award, while Sofie D'Hoore and Chantal Spaas won the Entrepreneur of the Year accolade for their international success and the organic way their brand has adopted a double signature.

Finally, men’s streetwear brand Arte was named the Fashion Brand of the Year.

For the first time ever, all nominees in the Most Promising Graduate category were named joint winners. Celebrating the rising stars from seven of the best Belgian fashion schools, the award was given to Bart Lapere, Dominique Rocour, Eva Delperdange, Maria Ossaba, Quinten Mestdagh, Samuel Quertinmont and Thurel Thonet.

The panel of judges included industry insiders and renowned professionals including Patrick Scallon, communications director of Dries Van Noten; designers Glenn Martens and Diane von Furstenberg; Elizabeth von der Goltz of Net-A-Porter; and Christopher Morency of Highsnobiety.

Guests enjoyed a live performance from Belgian music artist Charlotte Adiguéry.

The third edition of the Belgian Fashion Awards was organised by Knack Weekend, Le Vif Weekend.

Copyright © 2023 FashionNetwork.com All rights reserved.